Deutsch   Imprint
M100 Board Venue Press Partner/Links Contact

The M100 Sanssouci-Colloquium is accompanied by
a (mainly journalistic) advisory board. The members
meet periodically in Potsdam and plan and discuss
together the topics and participants of the M100
conferences. The advisory board acts also as jury
for the M100 media award.

Chairmen of the board are the British publisher
Lord Weidenfeld and Potsdam’s Lord Mayor,
Jann Jakobs. 

Further members are:

Jann Jakobs, Chairman
Lord Weidenfeld, co-chairman
Stefan Aust
Boris Biancheri
Dr. Hugo Bütler
Ulrich Deppendorf
Kai Diekmann
Dr. Mathias Döpfner
Prof. Ernst Elitz
Dr. Peter Frey
Dr. Alexander Gauland
Hans-Ulrich Jörges
Baroness Kennedy QC
Hans Werner Kilz
Roger Köppel
Christoph Lanz
Giovanni di Lorenzo
Dr. Klaus Rost
Dr. Rachel Salamander
Stephan Sattler
Dr. Frank Schirrmacher
S.D. Karl von Schwarzenberg
Louis Schweitzer
Andrea Seibel
Dr. Wolfram Weimer
  Dr. Hugo Bütler  

Dr. Hugo Bütler

born in 1944 in Hünenberg

- 1963 Matura (university-entrance diploma), Zug - Studies in History, Philosophy, Sovietology and German Language and Literature - 1968 “Neue Zürcher Zeitung”, national office with focus on domestic and foreign affairs of Switzerland, media policy and social policy - in charge of political literature department - from 1985 to 2006 editor-in-chief of “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” - since 2006 head of journalism, “Neue Zürcher Zeitung”

publications: "Gaetano Salvemini und die italienische Politik vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg“ (Gaetano Salvemini and Italian Politics before the First World War), Niemeyer Verlag Tübingen, 1978

„Die neuen Verweigerer. Unruhe in Zürich und anderen Städten“ (The new Deniers. Unrest in Zurich and Other Cities), with Thomas Häberling, 1981

„Liberalismus – nach wie vor“ (Liberalism still), with Professor Willy Linder and Hanno Helbling, 1980

essays in festschrift on the occasion of the bicentenary of the NZZ

other appointments: member of federal council of Switzerland commission on Swiss policy of neutrality chairman of Swiss Foreign Policy Association since 1992 member of the board and from 2000-2002 President of International Press Institute (IPI) since 1988 chairman of council of Landis & Gyr Cultural Foundation in Zug